Observations from class

I’m back in school. Ivy Tech, to be exact.
No, I don’t regret the time off–I was waffling before, not sure what I was going for or why. Odd as it sounds, I needed the experience of burnout and two years of distance in my career before I realized what I wanted out of college.
I want to understand and I want to be understood. Translation: I’m going for Psychology. This semester I’m only taking one class (financial reasons), Psych 101. My first class was on Tuesday, but I have found that the first day of class is basically just a meet and greet–very little learning goes on the first day. In today’s class, we started Chapter one…an introduction to an introduction to psychology, as my instructor called it.
We covered the history of psychology and the seven approaches.
Psychology, I am discovering, is a diverse field with many different approaches, philosophies and goals. It is almost diverse as the students in this class.
Since pretty much everybody has to take psych 101, my classroom is a pretty good sampling of the student body in general.
We’ve got nursing students, business students, engineering students, criminal justice students. We’ve even got humanities students. There’s also one other woman going for Psychology. And then, of course, there’s the other divide: the people going to school just to make more money and the people going to school to prepare for a vocation.
You can spot them by the questions they ask, the way they phrase things, the things they pay attention to.
I confess, it is a flaw of mine that I have very little respect for those who have made money their chief goal; I think this is from experiences in childhood and adolescence. During the times when my family skated on the poverty line, it was always the friends who struggled to feed themselves that filled our pantry; rarely did the affluent bring more than a couple cans.
I’m certainly not saying all rich people are misers and all poor people are generous…just that I have observed that those who put money and status first have difficulty appreciating the value of those who have less or barely enough.
I guess I prefer my rich folk the same as I do my poor folk: full of generosity and empathy.

Categories: INFP, ordinary life, Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Observations from class

  1. Perhaps a lack of generosity is a symptom of a larger disease. Plenty to think about here.

    Like

  2. Hmm, psychology sounds pretty exciting. Good luck 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

