Plans

I still live in my parents’ home.
That’s right: I’ve never moved out. Hear me out before you judge, please. It’s not quite what you might think. It’s not that I’m “a failure to launch” or that I’m lazy free-loader or am scared to get out on my own; I’ve made a conscious choice for very good and important adult reasons. Reasons I’m not going to go into right now, but they are good reasons, I promise. I didn’t just never move out; it was a conscious and deliberate choice. And I’m happy with my choices and my life and we’ve made it work. It’s rather less like living under my parent’s roof and more like I’m sharing a house with three other adults.
But I’m getting to the point where I need just a little more space. It’d be nice to have, for lack of a better term, my own roof. My own little space that’s just mine. What’s a girl to do?

Enter tiny houses.
For years, I’ve followed tiny house blogs and websites. I love the idea of living in a small space, but, for many reasons, I’ve never really made any steps towards realizing this idea. There’s always been something else going on, something else that I wanted. A tiny house of my own just kept getting pushed back into a corner of my mind. Well, that’s changing. I’m taking out my pipe dreams and dusting them off; they’ll be solid under the sun and not just mist in my mind. Yikes.

Why a tiny house?
As a child, I always thought it would be cool to live in a house on wheels…I love reading stories about wandering folk and gypsies. Mobile housing really fired my imagination.
As an adult, I have a deep-seated aversion to debt. And traditional housing is ridiculously expensive…almost impossible to achieve when you only make ten bucks an hour and don’t want to have a massive load of debt.
My imagination and bohemian tendencies and my limited sense of practicality are coming together in a project: I’m going to build myself a tiny house. I already have the perfect set-up for tiny house living: land to live on with, understanding and supportive landlords (hey Mom and Dad!). I’m single, don’t have kids, and have a few very good reasons for staying really close to home.

So, I’m going to building myself a tiny house. The expense is going to come exclusively out of bonuses and overtime and maybe tax refunds (I still have quite a bit left from last year’s return). I’m not going to use my core paychecks…that is, what I would make if I only work my scheduled shifts. That money is still going to be funneled into usual expenses and savings. This is a strictly extra-curricular, to mix my metaphors hopelessly. I might be the richest girl in the graveyard, but at least I’ll have something to show for it.
So, stay tuned for more crazy adventures! I’ll be document the whole experience here on this blog: how many hours I work, the total cost, the building process. It might take me a while because of this self-imposed financial limitation, but it’ll be interesting I’m sure!
It’s me, after all. Boring just isn’t an option.

Categories: Micro cottage | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Plans

  1. I’m so excited for you!

    Like

  2. Nana

    It is cute, do you plan on using it as your writing studio or really live in it? In the back yard? End of driveway or back in the wooded area? Will there be stepping stones so a Nana could walk out to see it?? IF I am invited that is.
    I know one thing, if you set your mind that this is what you are doing to do. It will be done! Keep me informed as your plan moves from on paper to on site!

    I know your reason for staying close to home…you are one of a kind, big hearted and amazing!!!
    I love you Hannah May, always have, always will!!!

    Like

    • Hannah

      At first, I plan on using it like a detached studio bedroom from the house and also as an RV camper and a writing studio. Later on, we’ll see what happens!

      Like

    • Hannah

      Location is still something I’m thinking about; it’s gonna have wheels, so I might move it around the yard as the fancy strikes me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

