Mother’s Day

Dear Mom,
You are awesome. There’s really not much more to say, because “awesome” pretty much describes you to a T. There’s not many people in this world with the grace to handle a crazy writer for a daughter, a husband who’s a techie by day and a farmer by evening, and keep up with a son as intelligent and quirky as Michael. You make it look easy.
I know that it’s not.
You taught me never to judge based on appearance; not to assume that worth is equal to success. You taught me to focus on the person, not the diagnosis.
You’re someone is always there for me. On a bad day, I know you’re praying for me without ever having to text you. I won’t be nearly as balanced a person if you weren’t in my life. You ground me and keep me from floating away. You always seem to know just what it is I need.
When I was just starting out as a CNA, I was about to quit because I was so overwhelmed. You made me promise I’d stick with it for at least 3 months. I can’t tell you how many people are glad you did. My residents see right through me to you and they respect you.
I remember I once asked if “the words were worth it”, if the dichotomy that makes me a good writer was worth the havoc it can play on the rest of my life. You almost put the car in the other lane as you jerked your head around and said “Absolutely”. You’ve never made me feel as though my writing was a waste of time that might be better spent making money. Thank you. You’re always ready to edit and listen to me work through my story. Thank you.
I know there are still, even in 2014, far too many men who are threatened by an intelligent woman who speaks the truth with love. Don’t ever let the haters keep you quiet. And thank you so much for falling in love and staying in love with a good man. You and Dad have shown me by example what mutual respect is. You’ve certainly raised my standards of what to expect in a life partner.
You bring out the best in people; you were born to be a mom.
I know I don’t say it enough…but I love you. Happy Mother’s Day
Hannah

Categories: ordinary life | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Well, excuse my while I blow my nose.

    Then we’ll address those typos! 😉

    I love you and thank you for the beautiful words.

    Like

  2. Appearance; —(I think you need a “not” following the semi colon, but it could just be the lump in my throat and tears in my eyes.

    Like

  3. Dad

    You did it to me again, I can’t believe how many times your writing has made me cry like teenage school-girl. Nicely done!

    Like

  4. Pingback: mother’s day | Hedges Happenings

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

