In which ambition outraces ability

So…I have been having a very quiet week. Boring or peaceful , depending on my mood.
And while every full-time worker (including me) would like to have such a lazy week, I am not at all happy as to how I came to have mine:
I fell off the road running.
Yeah. One minute I was jogging away, enjoying the crisp late summer air and the next minute my left leg buckles underneath of me and I’m teetering on the edge of the road. I didn’t really think anything of it; it’s not the first time I’ve had a glorious spill and I’m pretty certain it won’t be the last. I am, after all, a klutz. So I finished my jog and the next morning I go to work. My knee hurt but I shrugged it off, thinking to myself that I really “did a number this time” and decided to give jogging a rest until my knee felt better.
The problem, of course, is that my knee doesn’t start to feel better at all–in fact I could barely walk after finishing a shift at work. So Monday after work I go to the doctor, hoping to be told that I’m a wimp and to put an ace bandage on it and get over it.
Instead, I find myself listening to the nurse practitioner saying this like “one week off work”, “crutches”, “anti inflamatories”, “torn or strained”.
So here I am, sitting at home on what should have been a work day with ice on my knee.

If my knee isn’t a lot better by Monday, I’m looking at an MRI and a visit to orthopedic. That will be a first…but somehow, I never really thought about putting a serious knee injury on my List before.

Oh, and the 5K and maybe running in general are O.U.T. until further notice…which might be just after the world ends…because this isn’t fun!

Categories: ordinary life | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “In which ambition outraces ability

  1. I am so sorry about your knee. Hopefully it will feel all better without needing surgery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

