We said someday we’d find out how it feels

to sing to more than just a steering wheel.
That’s right! I sang karaoke last night…in a bar. Yeah. I saw that one coming, too.
An old friend I recently reconnected with turned 21 not to long ago and wanted to go out to a local tavern. She asked if I wanted to go with her; I said “Sure, why not?” Those three words, I’m finding out, are usually the precursor to all kinds of assorted misadventures and exclamations of “you did what?!”
The night started out in the typically fashion for me at a bar: I ordered a Sex on the Beach and stood in a corner, talking (or trying to talk) with the person I came with. I should perhaps mention that bars and I have only met twice; and that I only ever have the one drink–which I wash down with alarming quantities of good old H2O. If there’s one thing I learned from my brief stint as an EMT, it’s never to mix alcohol with cars, texting with car, and illegal drugs with people.
Anyway, G and I listened to her coworkers band for a while before we gained confidence enough to explore the rest of the tavern…which, by the way, was HUGE. I mean, I’ve been to Fourth Street Live. Phoenix Hill Tavern seemed almost as large and certainly more crowded. The drinks were better–and cheaper. Go figure.
In our exploration of the place, G and I came across the dancing section, complete with dance cages and poles. We had to beat a hasty exit from that part as the thick clouds of smoke had me choking and gasping for unpolluted air. We stumbled from the smoke…right into the karaoke lounge.
I immediately thought of my blog and the List. “Let’s do it!” I said. It seemed an eternity from us putting our names in to the time we were finally called up for our duet. Anybody who knows me can attest to the fact, that while I do not lack for confidence or nerves or words in a small group, getting up in front of crowd (even a hammered crowd) gives me a serious case of hesitation. Hesitation and karaoke do not mix; but despite this, G and I belted out Billy Joel’s “Only the Good Die Young.” Well, G belted. I squeaked.
I’m not sure the audience appreciated the irony of two Christian “good girls” singing this song in a bar.
Mom and Dad certainly did.
Then I had my solo. I had chosen Nickelback’s “How You Remind Me”; once again demonstrating my impeccable ability to consistently bite off more than I can chew. Singing Nickelback is HARD! The helpful shading of the words to help you keep time…didn’t help. I was either half a line ahead, or three lines behind and I was so wrapped up just trying to keep up to really get into the whole dynamic performance thing. I ended with stating that I never claimed to be a good singer and that was much harder than singing to a steering wheel.
Nobody else seemed to be Nickelback fans or they were still trying to recover from my tone-deaf performance to properly respond to my wit.

So there! My New Thing for August is done and written up before the month is half over! I can now say that I have sang karaoke…in a bar…very badly.
Courtesy of G, here are a few pictures.

20130811-135011.jpg

20130811-135026.jpg

Categories: The List | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “We said someday we’d find out how it feels

  1. I really like the 2nd picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

