Downsizing

Before I got my iPad, I was a good old-fashioned pen-and-paper kind of writer. Any scrap of paper was fair game; and let’s just say that I am not a very organized person, in life or in writing. The first half of chapter one would be in a Paperblanks notebook, the other half on a foot-shaped sticky note; and while I occasionally tried to consolidate, this involved the lengthy process of searching through massive stacks of paper, deciphering my handwriting, putting the pieces in order and then transcribing them into yet another notebook.
It got to the point where stories were being swallowed up by the chaos…so I switched to a laptop.
To my dismay, I found this didn’t really work for me either. Even the smallest laptop was quite bulky and I couldn’t curl up with it in just any position. You have to be more or less upright to work a laptop…and when inspiration struck, I wasn’t grabbing for the computer. I was still reaching for my notebooks and scrap paper.
Then in September 2012, I purchased my iPad. It was the latest, full-sized model and I absolutely loved it! Seriously, the best purchase I have ever made–except for my iPad mini, which I bought this Spring.
I still am not the most organized. I have several different apps that I switch between-depending on mood–but it is easier to get everything in order when all I have to do is copy and paste.
And the best part is, I’m not using up a whole forest to get the words out of my head! When I bought my first iPad, I had said I wanted to go as paperless as possible. I’m happy to say that almost one year later, I am on my way to achieving this goal. Between my writing apps and my kindle account, all my reading and writing are accomplished without felling one tree.

This week, however, I started to think of all boxes of notebooks and scrap paper and paperbound books still cluttering up my room. If I’m really hoping to move into a tiny house at some point in the near future, I decided I really needed to start downsizing. Not to mention the weather we’ve been having lately stirred up my fears from the tornado, that I would lose all that early writing and all those books because I couldn’t just pick them up and throw them in my backpack like my iPad.
So, I’ve been quite busy this week.

This

20130704-153241.jpg
And this

20130704-153316.jpg
were photocopied and put in my Dropbox and Evernote accounts. I kept all the notebooks, but the loose paper I then burned. Now if the house catches fire, it will have one square foot less of easy fuel! (By the way, the pages contained in the two above pictures translated into 650 photos. My poor iPad camera has never worked so hard!)

Then I turned my attention to the books.

20130704-153812.jpg
This got turned into my Amazon wish list or was purchased and downloaded onto my kindle…depending on price. I kept the hard copies of my favorite books, like Watership Down and the Chronicles of Narnia. The rest are Goodwill bound!

Thanks to these efforts, my room is much tidier now.

Have I mentioned just how much I love my iPad?

Categories: Writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Downsizing

  1. Do you know how happy this makes me? I know that isn’t why you did it, but it still makes me happy as a lark.

    Like

  2. We’ve done something similar. I love being almost paperless. Oh, and I am obsessed with tiny houses! I even subscribe to a tiny house blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

